1900 Market St Street | 8th Floor | Philadelphia, PA 19103 | 215.546.6719 | email: centercity@centercityresidents.org   Travis Oliver, Managing Director

National Emergency Alert Set for Wednesday, August 11

10 Aug 2021 9:32 AM | Travis Oliver (Administrator)

Cellphones will vibrate, radios will beep, and televisions will scroll special messages on Wednesday as the United States tests its Integrated Public Alert & Warning System, also known as IPAWS. The Integrated Public Alert & Warning System is FEMA’s national system for local alerting that provides authenticated emergency and life-saving information to the public through mobile phones using Wireless Emergency Alerts (WEA), to radio and television via the Emergency Alert System (EAS), and on the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s (NOAA) Weather Radio. The test is set for 2:20 pm ET, 1:20pm CT, 12:20 pm MT, 11:20 am PT, 10:20 am AT, and 8:20 am HT; it’ll be held at the same time across the country.

 

©2021 Center City Residents' Association. All Rights Reserved.
1900 Market St, Fl 8, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone: 215.546.6719 | Email:
 centercity@centercityresidents.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software